Various saving and publishing options

It is possible to save the contents of a page in several different ways. The various alternatives suit different occasions, depending on what you want to do after you have saved.

Brand Toolbox Save button  Save

The Save button is ideal for when you are working on one page for a long period of time. Save regularly to ensure that you don't lose any changes. When you select Save, the content is stored but not published to the live website.

Brand Toolbox Save And Publish button  Save and publish

The Save and publish button is ideal for when you want to publish a previously saved page to the live website, or to just publish a page without previewing it.

Brand Toolbox Preview button  Preview

Use the Preview button to preview how the page will appear on the live website.

Publish (Actions/Context Menu)  Brand Toolbox Publish context menu

The Publish option within the actions/context menu is ideal for when you want to publish a page and all of its sub-pages at once. When you right-click a page node and select Publish, a dialog is displayed for you to choose which pages should be published.

Brand Toolbox Various Saving And Publishing Options

There are three publish options:

Unpublishing pages

Unpublishing a page removes it from the live website. The unpublish button can be found on the ‘Properties’ tab of the page you wish to unpublish.

Brand Toolbox Unpublishing Page

Scheduled publishing

Scheduled publishing is ideal when you need a page to go live at a specific date and time when it is not convenient to do so manually.

The scheduled publish settings can be found on the ‘Properties’ tab of the page you wish to publish. Simply select a Publish at date then click Save. The page will publish itself automatically when the selected date occurs.

Brand Toolbox Scheduled Page Publishing

Scheduled unpublishing

Set a Remove at date and the page will automatically unpublish on the selected date.

Save and publish node icon states

The structure tree node icons appear differently depending on their ‘Save’ and ‘Publish’ status. Featured below are the four node states.

Node is published

Text link appears in black (as per visual below).

Brand Toolbox Save And Publish Node Icons Published

Node is published but has had recent changes saved but not published

Text link appears in black with orange star (*asterisk) appearing over icon (as per visual below).

Brand Toolbox Save And Publish Node Icons Published But Saved

Node is unpublished

Text link appears dimmed out in grey (as per visual below).

Brand Toolbox Save And Publish Node Icons Unpublished

Node is unpublished and has had recent changes saved

Text link appears dimmed out in grey with orange star (*asterisk) appearing over icon (as per visual below).

Brand Toolbox Save And Publish Node Icons Unpublished And Saved

Free
demo