Edit mode interface

Once you have logged into edit mode, the following content will be shown in your browser. This is the backend administrator interface.

Brand Toolbox Edit Mode Interface

On the left of the window is the Content pane (or Structure tree pane), showing the pages of the website in the form of a tree structure.

Below the Content pane is the Sections pane, which contains quick links to the major sections of the Brand Toolbox backend edit mode interface.

The right side of the window displays the Editing area pane.

Sections pane

The Sections pane lists all the major sections (or components) of the Brand Toolbox backend. Not all users have access to all sections. Depending on your ‘User’ type, some users will only have access to the Content and the Media sections.

To view another section, click on one of the section icons and the Structure tree pane will update to display that section’s structure tree.

Brand Toolbox sections pane

Content pane (Structure tree)

The Content (or Structure tree) pane lists all of the content pages for that section in a structured tree. We refer to these individual pages as ‘Nodes’ (or content nodes). Nodes can have many different types of sub pages or child-nodes.

To view the node’s child-nodes (or sub pages), click on the arrow next to the node name. You will notice the node hierarchy matches the frontend navigation hierarchy.

Editing area pane

The Editing area pane holds the content and important information for each page (or node), including information for media files, documents and images. Depending on the section, page or node chosen, the layout and contents of the editing area pane will differ.

Search

To search the backend for pages, media items or images, enter search criteria into the ‘Type to search...’ field. It will return results for matching page node names and content.

Logout

To log out of the backend, click on the ‘Logout’ button at the top-right of the window.

Brand Toolbox logout button

About Brand Toolbox version

To view your version of Brand Toolbox, select the About button at the top-right of the window.

Brand Toolbox About button

About Brand Toolbox version number

Actions (Context) menu

Each node has an Actions (or Context) menu, and depending on the node selected, the contents of the Actions menu differs. To view a particular node’s Actions/Context menu, right-click on the page/node name.

Below are several examples of different Actions menus...

Brand Toolbox Actions Context Menus

Actions (Context) menu items defined...

Brand Toolbox Create button  Create

Click this option to create a child item (node) or page under the selected page. Depending on which document type the page is, you will have various allowed child node types.

For more information, view the Create, Save and Publish content page.

Brand Toolbox Delete button  Delete

Click this option to delete the current page and any contained subpages. Deleted items are moved into the ‘Recycle Bin’ and can be ‘moved’ back into the content tree and republished.

Note: Never empty the Recycle Bin, otherwise pages cannot be restored if errors are made.

For more information, view Deleting a page.

Brand Toolbox Move button  Move

Click this option to move the current page, and any contained child pages, within the content tree. Note that not all Document Types (pages) allow themselves to be copied to other child node types. Attempting to move a page into another page/folder that doesn’t accept that page will be blocked.

For more information, view Moving a page.

Brand Toolbox Copy button  Copy

Click this option to copy the current page, and any contained subpages, to another area of the content tree.

For more information, view Copying a page.

Brand Toolbox Sort button  Sort

Click this option to sort the subpages of the current page.

For more information, view Ordering (Sorting) pages.

Brand Toolbox Rollback button  Rollback

Click this option to rollback to a previous version of the current page. Each time a page is ‘Saved’ or ‘Save and published’, a version of the previous page content is stored in the database, and is available to ‘restore’ on rollback.

Brand Toolbox Publish button  Publish

Click this option to publish the current page. Checkbox options are available to publish the current page and all of its subpages, as well as any unpublished subpages.

For more information, view the Create, Save and Publish content page.

Brand Toolbox Manage Hostnames buttons  Manage hostnames

Not applicable — This option is available for creating multi-language websites. 

Brand Toolbox Permissons button  Permissions

Not applicable.

Brand Toolbox Public Access button  Public access

Click this option to change the availability of the current page and any contained subpages. ‘Role based protection’ allows you to make the page available to certain Member groups – ie. you may want to restrict a page to be viewed by the ‘Brand Team’ only.

For more information, view the Changing public access privileges page.

Brand Toolbox Audit Trail button  Audit Trail

Click this option to view a page’s action history. The action performed, who performed the action and when the action was performed is recorded every time the page is edited. This is important to track who is making changes to pages — so don’t share your credentials with others.

Brand Toolbox Notifications button  Notifications

Click this option if you would like to be notified whenever another editor performs an action on a page that you are the owner/custodian of.

For example, you are a ‘Publisher’ and the owner of a particular section (ie. the ‘Brand tools’ section). You want to be notified by email whenever an ‘Editor’ or other user completes their changes to your section. To receive the notification whenever any user ‘Sends the Page to Publish’, do the following:

Note that all child nodes of a page marked with a notification will inherit the notification. For more information, view the Workflow notifications and content approval page.

Brand Toolbox Send To Translation button  Send to Translation

Not applicable — This option is available for creating multi-language websites.

Brand Toolbox Reload Nodes button  Reload nodes

Choosing this option causes the content tree to refresh itself and its child nodes to reflect any new changes. When editing content, the content tree will generally refresh itself when content is saved. If the tree doesn’t refresh, or if multiple editors are working on the site, and you want to have their changes loaded into your content tree, you can do this by reloading parts of the content tree.

For more information, view the Tips and tricks page.

Free
demo