Brand Toolbox houses a powerful image access and restriction tool.
You can restrict access to images in two very different ways:
Brand Toolbox allows you to use either of the image access and restriction mechanisms to suit your purpose. Combined together, the mechanisms create a very powerful image access and restriction tool.
The options are:
Note that these are broad settings across all images and categories in the Photo library. For example, if a particular member group is set to view and download “Low resolution images” only, they will only be able to download low res images (Small and Medium) across the entire Photo library. They will see the options for Large and Original images (visualised by the exclamation marks below) but they are not allowed to download.
However, they are able to request high resolution images via an online Image Request Form attached to the image download buttons. The form is sent to the Image Administrator as an email for approval. Once approved, the member will then be allowed to download the high resolution image for the approved images only.
If a member group is not allowed to create and export custom image sizes, the “Custom size” button will be hidden from view.
To set image access options:
Note that if none of the checkboxes are selected, then members from that member group will only be able to download low resolution (630px) watermarked images. They would need to request non-watermarked images.
^^ Available on Brand Toolbox v3.2+ only
Note: If you want to prevent the download of High Res images to a particular member group, the “Can Download Custom Size” checkbox should remain unchecked, as this does allow users to export at high resolutions.
Note also that the pre-configured image size options need to be input by the Brand Toolbox Development Team. To see the pre-configured list that ships with the software, view the Export custom image sizes & formats list.
“Public access” restrictions allow you to define which member groups are allowed to view the images within a specific image category.
When applied, all images within the specified category will be hidden from view. Note that if an image appears in several categories, and the member is allowed to view one of the two categories applied to the image, then the image will still be viewable under the permitted category.
By default, Brand Toolbox makes all category nodes available to ‘Employee’ and ‘Non-employee’ Member Groups. Unless you specifically change this setting, all image categories inherit these access privileges. Note that you only need to change these settings when you want to block individual member groups from viewing specific image categories.
You may decide to restrict access to a particular image category so it is viewable by ‘Employee’ member groups only. For example, you may have internal comms images and wish to exclude 3rd party or external suppliers (ie. Non-employees) from viewing the images.
To restrict access to the ‘Employee’ member group only, follow the procedure below: