Discontinued images that you no longer wish to show in the Photo library should be removed. Do not delete them, however, as you may want to reuse them again in future. Instead, simply unpublish or archive the image.
Deleting images permanently removes them from the system. Therefore, follow best practice asset management protocol and simply unpublish or archive them — so they can later be retrieved, if required.
Apart from deleting, there are several ways to remove an image from the Image library:
Choose the method that best suits your purposes.
For an image to appear in the Photo library frontend, it must be published^^. Therefore, to hide an image from public view, yet retain it in the backoffice, simply unpublish it. Note that, by default, ‘Image Suppliers’ cannot publish or unpublish images. They can only upload images.
^^ Note that there is an exception to this rule. Privileged member groups (usually Editors & Admins) can be given access to these unpublished/archived images without logging into the backoffice. See “Frontend display settings” below for more detail.
When to use this method?
When images are first created, they are unpublished. It’s best to keep them unpublished until they are ready for release. Also, if you want to temporarily hide an image, simply unpublish it, as all image properties, member attributes and details are kept intact.
To unpublish the image:
When to use this method?
If a previously published image becomes discontinued and is no longer needed, simply archive it. Archiving tells users that the image was once available but is now no longer current or in use. It should not be deleted, however, as you never know when you might need it again! Remember, some Government agencies require you to keep a copy of all assets for a period of seven years.
To archive an asset:
Note: It is not necessary to unpublish an image if you simply want to archive it. Although unpublishing an image hides it from public view, unpublishing overrides the “Archive” state, so references to it will be flagged as “Unpublished” rather than “Archived”.
If you want to discuss the best method appropriate to your asset management needs, please contact our Professional Services team.
To delete an image, right-click the image node in the Media > Image library folder to open the actions menu. Select Delete then confirm deletion.
Note: We recommend you Unpublish or Archive the image rather than delete it, as it can be re-published again at a later date. Deleting an image will move it to the Recycle Bin and it will be permanently deleted when the Recycle Bin is emptied.
Note that items in the Recycle Bin are automatically deleted after 30 days.
Images can also be deleted in bulk by selecting multiple items in the list view, or clicking the Select all checkbox – then Delete.
Generally, unpublished and/or archived images do not appear in the frontend. However, privileged member groups (Editors & Admins) can be given access to these unpublished/archived images without logging into the backoffice.
When given access, these member groups will see an additional image status drop-down list in the frontend.
The list allows images to be filtered by Published, Unpublished or Archived images.
Please note that you should not give all member groups access to these images, as they are still downloadable. This feature should be restricted to the key Admin group.
To enable Unpublished and Archived image access (assuming you have permission):
Members from that member group will now be able to view unpublished and archived images in the frontend via the drop-down list.